Audrey Geer

Nursery Worker

My story begins in Binghamton, New York, where I was born on May 22, 1946. I lived on a farm for the first 10 years of my life with 2 sisters and one brother. I moved from the farm to the city of Binghamton and was there until 1970 when I married my husband and changed my name from Whitaker to Geer. I’ve been married for 47 years now.

I ran a daycare in my home for 15 years so I could remain home with my children. We have two children who are married and I now have 6 grandchildren ranging from 4 to 17 years old.  We moved from New York in 1988 to Apopka, FL. and I worked at Liggetts Drug for 2 years. I then went to Florida Hospital in Orlando, became a pharmacy technician and I loved my job. It was very interesting to learn so much from the pharmacists and to be able to assist in the care of so many people. I had the chance to work with people from EGYPT, PAKISTAN, AFRICA, PHILIPPINES, NIROBI, CUBA, CHINA, and JAPAN. So much to learn from so many different cultures.  It was quite a change from working with children for so many years.

I was there when pharmacy first began using computers and I remember how terrified the staff was when the computers came. We all fumbled around a lot and helped each other until we learned the programs. Every day was something new to learn. I remember one incident particularly. They flew leeches in from NY and we kept them in the big refrigerator at work. Usually we received them for a specific patient for the healing process. I never wanted to get them ready to go, so one of our pharmacists would name each one and fish it out to send it. It was so interesting to learn about that process that there was never a dull moment! I worked every other weekend, made many friends there and still keep in contact with a lot of them. We have so many memories and crazy stories to reminisce about.

After 23 years I retired and moved to Edgewater, FL. A few years later I became restless and needed more, so I answered an ad to work for First Presbyterian in the nursery. I love children! Just watching those little faces playing and learning from each other. I’ve met so many nice people here. I also work at Burns Science and Tech charter school as a substitute when they need me.

Where I live now I also take care of pets for people when they go on vacation. I truly love animals. They are such companionable creatures.  I have a cocker spaniel, my third one and her name is Marlee. My children named her. I call her Moochie Mama because she drags her body across the floor when it’s time to go out for a walk. I guess she does that for attention or she’s just too lazy to go outside. Whatever it is, she is our baby now. She sings with us every morning and she is a great joy in our lives. I also do water aerobics every day of the week that I can and I enjoy reading and being with my sisters when I can. Family is everything to me and I absolutely love mine!